Running Around Cleveland


It’s Official, I’m Goofy

I have been looking for ways to challenge myself in running as of late. It started with my running a marathon, then it progressed to running a marathon in under 5 hours. Last year I became a Marathon Maniac by running 2 marathons in a 15 day period. This year I’m looking to break the 4 hour marathon, I am only 12 minutes from that goal now. My second goal for this year is to run 4 marathons in a 23 day period & obtain Iridium level in the Marathon Maniacs. But now is the time for me to set some goals for next year, and I think I’ve got a good one. And what better day to announce this than my birthday, I am running the Goofy.

Those of you that are runners already know what this means. Those of you who aren’t, here’s the low down. Most marathon’s, 26.2 miles, have a half marathon, 13.1 miles, division. The Disney Marathon is no different, except that the division are run on two separate days. On Saturday January 7th, the Disney Half Marathon is run and on Sunday January 8th, the Disney Full Marathon is run. The Goofy Challenge is running all 39.3 miles of both races in that two day period. This however, is not the real challenge for me.

The Goofy Challenge is the race where I’m going to use running to give some back for all that running has given me. I have signed up to run the Goofy Challenge as part of the Liver Life Challenge. This means to compete I need to raise $3650 for the American Liver Foundation. At this point it is no longer my challenge, but a challenge for all my friends, family, coworkers and acquaintances. I can’t do this without you. My ability to race is completely in your hands, and I trust you all to come through for me. The money I raise for the American Liver Foundation will be used to research cures for Liver Disease, Liver Cancer, Hepatitis and so many other liver related illnesses.

So I am asking you my friends, to help me make this a reality and support liver health by going to my Liver Challenge page a make a donation.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is an awesome challenge Justin! You are going to crush it!

Comment by kimi

Great Job – I have found running for a charity keeps me super motivated… kudos to you!

Comment by TheHeldawg

So excited to have you as part of the program, Justin! And thanks for the great post. Happy Birthday, and good luck. I’ll be there with you every step of the way!

Comment by Bite Buff

Very excited I now know someone else running Disney! CLE will be well represented :)

Comment by Hungry in Cleveland

Awesome news! I’ll never forget running the Disney half this year. I ran that morning, then went back to the race expo (while my husband napped!!) to pick up a prize I won. I was walking around like it was nothing and several folks asked if I was running the full the next day. I replied, “no, I ran the half this morning”. They all then responded with a form of “wow, you look great! You should run tomorrow as well and get that Goofy medal!” I totally wish I did!!

Comment by poiseinparma

I am so proud of you. What a great runner you have become!! I know that anything you put your mind to, you can accomplish. You are a wonderful man and I love you.

Comment by JessicaMcI

WOW I love this and am so incredibly jealous. I am dying to run the goofy challenge. Hopefully within the next year or so. It’s really expensive so I need to start saving money.
Good luck with fundraising, let me know if you have any fundraising events!

Comment by mojamala2

[…] other request to my readers. Please read my blog post on the Goofy Challenge and consider donating to the Liver Life Challenge. Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

Pingback by Akron Marathon – Quest for Iridium Leg One « Running Around Cleveland

[…] I am running the Goofy Challenge with the Liver Life Challenge Team. That means raising money. Boy have we got a great way to raise […]

Pingback by Eat Burritos, Drink Margaritas, and Save Your Liver « Running Around Cleveland

[…] if you have not looked into my Goofy Challenge, please do […]

Pingback by Red, White and Blue 26.2 – Quest for Iridium Leg Two « Running Around Cleveland

[…] I was supposed to run the Goofy Challenge with the Liver Life Challenge Team, but my stress fracture took me out of the race. The good news […]

Pingback by Drink Bier For Your Liver « Running Around Cleveland




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

