Running Around Cleveland


How I am Going to Obtain Iridium
August 8, 2011, 12:15 am
Filed under: Goals, Marathon, Marathon Maniacs, Running | Tags: , , ,

It’s official, I have decided I need to obtain Iridium. You are probably thinking why does he need to have a platinum hardening agent. Maybe he is starting a crucible or heavy duty electrical contact manufacturing business in his garage. Well I don’t need that Iridium. I need Marathon Maniacs Iridium Level. And I have come up with a plan to do it without leaving Ohio. On Friday I paid all the entry fees for the required races. I’m committed now, no turning back.

Currently I am a Bronze Level (1 Star) Marathon Maniac. I achieved that status my running 2 full marathons in a 16 day period, I ran the 2010 Akron Marathon and the 2010 Towpath Marathon. That’s been about a year ago, and now I have the inch to increase my level. But I like to go big. Why go for Silver (2 Star) or Gold (3 Star) when Iridium (4 Star) is obtainable.

Iridium Level is obtained in one of four ways:

1. 4 Marathons in 23 days.

2. 19 – 25 Marathons within 365 days.

3. 2 Marathons in 2 days (or 48 hours).

4. 9 Marathons in 9 different US states, Countries, or Canadian Provinces (any combination) within 365 days.

I have chosen method 1. I am going to run the Akron Marathon on 9/24/2011 for the 1st marathon. The 2nd leg of my journey is the Red, White & Blue 26.2 in Findlay, Ohio on 10/2/2011. I will be returning to the Towpath Marathon  on 10/9/2010 for my 3rd. The last will be going back to my first marathon I ever ran, the Columbus Marathon on 10/16/2011.

Am I a little crazy, probably. But what is life without a little risk? This will be fun! And if you are at any of these races, please give me a shout, I may need it. ;)

What is your marathon streak? How extreme of a streak would you attempt? Or am I just crazy?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You sir – are a Nut Case – But that is AWESOME… Good Luck Bro!

Comment by rn4atsm

Crazy is good :) I can’t wait to run Towpath followed by Detroit!

Comment by mojamala2

Not sure which is more crazy, the 4 marathons or the link to elemental iridium. Way to be a nerd ;) Good luck though! The Towpath will be fun!

Comment by Hungry in Cleveland




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

