Running Around Cleveland


A Fantastic Fathers Day Weekend

I don’t know if Fathers Day weekend could get much better than the one I had this year. I got to do some of my favorite things and eat some of my favorite food all while spending lots of time with my family.

Friday night started off with going to my daughter Abigail’s little league ball game. The weather was perfect so the wife and I took the twins with us. Abigail gets so excited to have all of us at her games to cheer her. She had a great night and got hits all 3 times at bat. From there we headed out to the Avon Duct Tape Festival that takes place about a half mile from my house. It’s always a blast to see the creative Duct creations there. Plus the festival has great bands, we got to watch Cleveland’s Breakfast Club, rides and food. I enjoyed a Lake Erie perch sandwich with kettle corn for dessert.

Saturday morning started with long run in one of my favorite places to run in Cleveland, the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. I got 10.25 miles in with some good friends and was back home with the family by 10:30 in the morning. From there we went to another of Abigail’s little league games. With fantastic weather the whole family got to go again enjoy the time outdoors.

After the game we took the twins home for their afternoon nap when Jess informed that she hadn’t got me a gift yet. So she took Abigail to the store with and left me at home alone with sleeping twins. I had the house to myself. This had not happen in months. So what did I do, I turned on my much neglected PlayStation 3 and got to game for more than 3 hours. This is one my favorite past times and I can’t believe the twins sleep that long.

When the girls returned from their shopping trip we spent the evening gaming together. We love playing SingStar together. It’s basically a karaoke game that scores you on how well you sing. We have some very serious battles on this game in our house. I have some of the videos of us posted on SingStar’s Website. We finished up the evening playing Little Big Planet 2 together. Quite a clever  game that is multiplayer and family friendly, it also great for you creative types.

Sunday morning started with a bang. I decided, last minute, to run the Park 2 Park half marathon and broke the 2 hour barrier for the 1st time in my running. You can read more about that in my blog post about it. After that I headed to Sunday morning church service with the family to hear my dear friend Mark fill in for our preacher with a fantastic sermon.

Mark’s extended family lives out-of-town and mine was on vacation, so we took the opportunity to take our families out to lunch together at Applebees. They have a fantastic healthy menu there now which I ate off of to save calories for the meal I was going to eat later that night.

I won a contest the week before on Twitter from Morton’s Steakhouse for dinner for to on Fathers Day. We were having trouble finding a baby sitter for the night and were afraid we might have to miss out on the Fathers Day dinner there, but our friend Kim stepped in to help us out on Sunday afternoon. The meal we had at Morton’s was fantastic. Because  Jess went on bed rest for her last trimester of the pregnancy with the twins and we’ve been pretty busy since they come into our lives, it has been a long time since we had a fancy dinner out by ourselves. The staff at Morton’s was fantastic. They were very attentive to our needs. I really enjoyed their menu presentation where they bring the appetizers, vegetable, and cuts of meat to the table to let see everything you can order rather than just ordering out of the menu. Our meal was fantastic. We both started with their Five Onion Soup, it was delicious. Next we both had the Double Cut Filet Mignon with a side of Hash Brown Potatoes and Steamed Asparagus with Hollandaise Sauce. It was a fine meal, but we both refrained from cleaning our plates to save room for the Legendary Hot Chocolate Cake dessert. Kudos to Morton’s, they truly have a special place there.

My Father’s Day weekend was spent running around some of the best Cleveland has to offer with the most important people in my life. I don’t think it could have been any better.

How was your Father’s Day weekend? I hope it was as good as mine!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good Stuff Justin…. Glad it was a good time by all… and most importantly – you!

Comment by rn4atsm

Sounds like you had one of the best Father’s Day weekends ever! Congrats on the marathon success and the delicious dinner date at Morton’s. #winning

Comment by Sally




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

